Tuesday, June 18, 2024
HomeLatest NewsWorldJon Fosse Wins 2023 Nobel Prize in Literature

Jon Fosse Wins 2023 Nobel Prize in Literature

Norwegian author, Jon Fosse won the 2023 Nobel Prize in Literature.

The prize, which is worth 11 million Swedish crowns or almost $1 million, is given out by the Swedish Academy. The Nobel Prize for Literature, Science, and Peace were established in the will of Swedish dynamite inventor and businessman Alfred Nobel, and have been given out since 1901, becoming the highest honors in their respective disciplines.

The Swedish central bank later added the economics award and founded it.

Literature has frequently attracted more debate and attention than the peace award, bringing less well-known authors into the public eye and boosting book sales for renowned literary super stars.

The literature prize has chosen recipients over the years who go far outside the novelist tradition, including playwrights, historians, philosophers, and poets. In 2016, the award to singer-songwriter Bob Dylan set a new precedent.

Author Annie Ernaux, one of the front-runners for the Nobel Prize last year, became the first French woman to receive it for her primarily autobiographical works that explore memory and social inequity.

visit our Urdu site

- Advertisment -

Most Popular