Tuesday, May 28, 2024
HomeLatest NewsSportsBabar Azam Becomes Youngest Cricketer to Receive Sitara-e-Imtiaz

Babar Azam Becomes Youngest Cricketer to Receive Sitara-e-Imtiaz

Babar Azam becomes youngest cricketer to receive the Sitara-e-Imtiaz.

Babar, who is 28 years old, has now received the Sitara-e-Imtiaz award for his remarkable athletic accomplishments. Making him the youngest cricketer to receive the honour.

Governor Baligh Ur Rehman gave the honour to Babar, the all-format captain of Pakistan. During a ceremony for investiture held at the Punjab Governor House as part of the celebrations for Pakistan Day.

To win the prize in front of his parents, the skipper referred to it as a “immense honour.”

This award is for my parents, fans, and the people of Pakistan, he tweeted.


The record for the youngest cricketer to get the Sitara-e-Imtiaz formerly belonged to Sarfaraz Ahmed, Babar’s predecessor.

In 2018, the then-Sindh governor Mohammad Zubair presented the award to Sarfaraz at the Governor House in Karachi after he had helped Pakistan win the Champions Trophy in 2017.

The nation’s third-highest civilian honour, to be given to Babar, was revealed by the government on August 14 of last year.

In May 2015, against Zimbabwe, Babar played his first game of international cricket. He eventually made his debuts in T20Is and Tests in 2016, thanks to his efforts.

In 47 Test matches, Babar has scored 3,696 runs at an average of 48.63. While in 95 One Day Internationals. He has scored 4,813 runs at an average of 59.41. In 99 T20Is, Babar has scored 3,355 runs at an average of 41.41.

In his ongoing cricket career, Babar has received numerous honours. Including the Sir Garfield Sobers Trophy and ICC Men’s ODI Player of the Year. Under his leadership, Pakistan defeated India in a world cup match for the first time, and they also advanced to the finals of the most recent T20 global championship.

Misbah-ul-Haq, Younis Khan, and Shahid Afridi are three more cricketers who have received the award in addition to Babar and Sarfaraz for their outstanding contributions.

Although Mohammad Yousuf won the honour in 2011, Saeed Ajmal did so in 2015, Inzamam ul Haq did so in 2005, and Javed Miandad did so in 1992.

Visit Our Urdu Site..

- Advertisment -

Most Popular