Friday, May 24, 2024
HomeLatest NewsSportsNew Zealand Announce World Cup Squad in Heartwarming Style

New Zealand Announce World Cup Squad in Heartwarming Style

New Zealand announced its 15-player squad for ICC Cricket World Cup.

The New Zealand team has been introduced by the players’ families. The Blackcaps announced the inclusion of the players in the squad for the multilateral competition in a video that was posted on X and featured the families of the players.

Leg-spinner Ish Sodhi, who was named to the squad, attended Papatoetoe High School in Auckland, where New Zealand announced the group on Monday.

Following his recovery from the injury he got during an IPL 2023 game, Kane Williamson will serve as the team’s captain. Tim Southee, a fast bowler, and Williamson have both been selected to play in their fourth World Cup.

Both the 23-year-old spin-bowling all-rounder Rachin Ravindra and Mark Chapman have earned their spots due to recent outstanding performances in the two white-ball forms.

Gary Stead, the coach of New Zealand, acknowledges that selecting the final roster required him to make some difficult choices, but he is certain that his team’s balance of youth and experience will serve them well in India.

“I’d like to congratulate the 15 players chosen today. Naming a tournament team is always a memorable occasion. Being chosen to represent your nation at a World Cup is an honor, Stead added.

“It’s always a very exciting time, from Kane and Tim heading to their fourth tournament to the guys selected for the first time.”

“There have been some difficult decisions, and there will be some dissatisfied players, as with any side picked for an ICC tournament. The secret for us was figuring out the squad’s ideal balance and making sure we were prepared for a very competitive event.

Before facing England once more in a replay of the 2019 Final in the World Cup opener on October 5, the team plays ODI matches against Bangladesh and England.

New Zealand Squad

Trent Boult, Mark Chapman, Devon Conway, Lockie Ferguson, Matt Henry, Tom Latham, Jimmy Neesham, Glenn Phillips, Rachin Ravindra, Mitch Santner, Ish Sodhi, Tim Southee, and Will Young are among the players on the field.

visit our Urdu site

- Advertisment -

Most Popular