Tuesday, March 5, 2024
HomeLatest NewsSportsPunjab CM Mohsin Naqvi becomes the 37th PCB Chairman

Punjab CM Mohsin Naqvi becomes the 37th PCB Chairman

Mohsin Naqvi, was elected unopposed as PCB chairman for next 3 years.

Mohsin Naqvi, currently the chief minister of Punjab at the moment, was elected without opposition to lead the Pakistan Cricket Board (PCB) chairman for the next three years.

Naqvi will take over the duties in a few days, according to a formal declaration made by PCB Chief Election Commissioner Shah Khawar on Monday at a press conference in Lahore.

After Zaka Ashraf, the previous head of the PCB Management Committee, steps down from the Board of Governors (BoG), Naqvi will take over as the 37th chairman of the cricket board.

“Mohsin Naqvi may accept the chairmanship in addition to his post as chief minister. The legislation and the constitution have no limitations that would prevent him from taking over as chairman right away,” stated Khawar.

Caretaker Prime Minister Anwaar-ul-Haq Kakar nominated Naqvi, the owner of a television channel and interim chief minister for more than a year, for the cricket body’s Board of Governors.

“I’ll work to resolve the problems hurting cricket in Pakistan. Naqvi stated that cricket reforms are desperately needed right now.

Ashraf resigned from his position as PCB Management Committee chairman earlier in January. The 72-year-old declared his resignation in front of the committee.

Ashraf won the election to the PCB Board of Governors on July 6 and assumed the role of chairman, succeeding Najam Sethi.

“I was working for the betterment of cricket but it is not possible for us to work in this way,” he stated.

Pakistan participated in two important events under Ashraf’s leadership: the Asia Cup and the ODI World Cup.

The Men in Green were not only unable to go to the World Cup semi-finals but also to the final of the regional event.

Also read this: Zaka Ashraf Resigned as PCB Management Committee Head

Visit our Urdu site

- Advertisment -

Most Popular