Monday, April 22, 2024
HomeLatest NewsSportsPCB Likely to Announce 18-Member Squad for NZ T20I Series

PCB Likely to Announce 18-Member Squad for NZ T20I Series

PCB expected to announce 18-member squad for T20I series against NZ.

A consultation process to confirm the names has begun in Kakul, Abbottabad, and the Pakistan Cricket Board (PCB) is scheduled to reveal the 18-member squad for the T20I series against NZ in a 2 days.

Babar Azam, the captain, and national selectors are conferring over the names at Kakul, where players are undergoing rigorous physical training under the watchful eye of Pakistan Army personnel.

Read More Informative Articles in Urdu

For the same purpose, the skipper and selectors met with PCB Chairman Mohsin Naqvi one day prior.

According to the sources, an 18-man roster was anticipated to be revealed because it was a home series. The visiting side will travel to Pakistan on April 14 in preparation for the T20I series, which is set to begin on April 18.

Haris Rauf, a fast bowler, sustained a shoulder injury during the just concluded Pakistan Super League (PSL) 9 and may require more rehabilitation.


Babar, Salman Ali Agha, Iftikhar Ahmed, Azam Khan, Shadab Khan, Usama Mir, Shaheen Shah Afridi, Naseem Shah, Imad Waseem, Muhammad Amir, Zaman Khan, Usman Khan, Wasim Jr., Irfan Niazi, and Abbas Afridi are the players that are being considered for the five-match series. Fakhar Zaman’s hand injury is currently being examined.

According to the cricket board’s objective of minimizing the workload on the team’s important fast bowlers, leading pacer Shaheen may also miss a portion of the New Zealand series.

According to a Tuesday News, discussions over the issue are still going on in order to safeguard pacers from needless strain and assess the form and fitness of newcomers.

Conversely, there is a greater opportunity for the fast bowlers who are returning to be part of the T20I series against the Kiwis.

It’s possible that Shaheen and other top fast bowlers would be rested for the first few games or the entire series against the visitors.

Also read this: New Zealand Team Come to Pakistan for T20 Series next month

- Advertisment -

Most Popular