Saturday, July 13, 2024
HomeLatest NewsCultural5th February Jammu and Kashmir Solidarity Day

5th February Jammu and Kashmir Solidarity Day

Do you Know About Jammu and Kashmir?

J&K is an Indian union territory (until October 31, 2019 a state) in the northern Indian subcontinent, centered on the plains surrounding Jammu to the south and the Vale of Kashmir to the north. The union territory is part of the wider region of Kashmir, which has been a source of contention between India, Pakistan, and China since the subcontinent’s split in 1947.

Legislation passed in August 2019 laid the stage for reclassifying J&K as a union territory and separating a portion of it, known as the Ladakh region, into a distinct union territory.
The alteration became effective on October 31, of that year, however, various court disputes pertaining to its legality remained unresolved in the years that followed.

5th February Jammu & Kashmir Solidarity Day

“Let us stand together for Kashmir, Safer and happier Kashmir is what we desire”

Kashmir under India or Pakistan?

J&K are limited to the east by the Indian union territory of Ladakh, to the south by the Indian states of Himachal Pradesh and Punjab, to the southwest by Pakistan, and to the northwest by the Pakistani-administered section of Kashmir. The summer administrative capitals are Srinagar and the winter capital is Jammu.

5th February Jammu & Kashmir Solidarity Day

The current situation and political differences. India holds around half of the erstwhile princely state of J&K, which included both J&K and Ladakh, while Pakistan controls the other third, which is separate into two provinces, Azad Kashmir and Gilgit-Baltistan.

Old name of Jammu and Kashmir:

J&K, officially known as the Princely State of Kashmir and Jammu, was a princely state during the Company rule from 1846 to 1858 as well as the British Raj in India from 1858 to 1952.

Visit our Urdu Website for Urdu News:

Also Read: Earthquake Jerk Mirpur, Other Azad Kashmir Cities

- Advertisment -

Most Popular